I Got A Five-Star Review On My Book! Whee!

I am ever so pleased. Harder Than Rocks is a wonderful book in a super-slow genre. I haven’t sold any copies of this book, but I did a free promotion a while ago, just to get it out there, and look! Someone read it and really liked it! Hooray!

Here is my shiny new five-star review:

I love classic Russian literature, especially the books where you think the author’s just being silly and then BAM he hits you with some profoundness that leaves you thinking about the book for weeks.

This book is one of those books.

It follows this kid Samuel, whose life kinda sucks. He decides hey, screw it, and runs away from his crummy job, crummy motel room, and crummy life. He’s hungry, of course, so when he gets invited to a party by two random guys he of course eats all the food he’s offered – and falls in love with the hostess, of course. But she turns out to be kinda crazy, so he skips out on her. And then she turns out to be really crazy and sends a hitman after him, who ends up dying in a bathroom. The sheer absurdity of the story up until this point is very Gogolesque.

But then life comes back to Samuel, and stuff gets real when you find out exactly what he’s trying to run from. And this is where the real genius of the writing comes in, because Poole presents a situation so tragic yet mundane that you can’t help but think that things won’t get better for Samuel, but you’re rooting for him just the same.

No spoilers here – just a recommendation to read one of the best books I’ve read in awhile.

I feel so clever and cultured now. Yay for readers!

You’ve been reading a blog about writing by Victor Poole. My books are here. My coming-of-age novel is genius.

